William V.S. Tubman University Foundation

Chair of Foundation Board Dr. Elizabeth Davis Russell

While serving as Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at the State University of New York at Cortland, Dr. Elizabeth Davis-Russell was asked by the American Association of State Colleges and Universities to serve on a team to assess the state of higher education in Liberia after 15 years of civil war. While in Liberia, Her Excellency Ellen Johnson, President of Liberia, asked Dr. Davis-Russell to please return to help rebuild their higher education system.

Dr. Davis-Russell returned to Liberia to rebuild Tubman College of Technology, which had been completely destroyed during the war. She not only rebuilt the College but transformed it into a comprehensive university with six colleges. Dr. Davis-Russell served as founding president for Tubman University for eight years.

As an Alpha Kappa Alpha member since 1974, Dr. Davis-Russell called upon some of her Alpha Kappa Alpha sisters to assist her in establishing a foundation which would raise funds to support the programs and students of the university. Three of those Alpha Kappa Alpha women still serve on the Tubman University Foundation. They are Dr. Bernice Bass de Martinez, Dr. Karen Schuster Webb, and Attorney Hope Elder. These AKA women have served their sorority well in several roles. I ask you to join our efforts!

William V.S. Tubman University Foundation Advisory Council Members

Hassana Alidou, PhD
Embassy of Niger
2204 R Street, NW
Washington, DC 20008
Tel: 1-202-483-4224
Email: halidou@embassyofniger.org

Roberta Brown Cooper
Humanitarian & President, Marylanders for Progress, Inc
Post Office Box 44402
Fort Washington, Maryland 20749
Tel: 1-202-498-0743
Email: msrobertabrown@hotmail.com

Eric C. Hanson, MD
Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine
Sierra Pacific Orthopedic Center
1630 Hemdon Ave
Fresno, CA 93720
Tel: 1-559-226-5200
Email: ehanson@spoc-ortho.com

Doc Lawson, Founder and CEO
Dallas Cup, Inc.
8222 Squires Place
Houston, TX 77083
Tel: 1-214-783-1008
Email: doclawson22@gmail.com

David Baker Lewis, MBA, JD
Founding Partner of Lewis & Munday
456 North Street, SW
Washington, DC 20024
Tel: 1-313-702-6229
Email: dlewis@lewismunday.com

Kenneth B. Morris, Jr.
Co-Founder & President
Frederick Douglass Family Initiatives
PO Box 11142
Washington, DC 20024
Tel: 1-202-577-4653
Email: kmorris@fdfi.org

Judson Taylor, PhD
507 62nd Avenue
Hillsboro, OR 97124
Tel: 1-401-787-0628
Email: judsontaylor@gmail.com


Responsibilities of Advisory Council

The Honorary Council consists of prominent high profiled public and private sector Lawyers, administrators, Doctors and philanthropists committed to academic excellence and development. The Council meets annually in collaborations with the Tubman University Foundation Board of directors at their Face-to-Face meeting. The Council will jointly review the Board’s strategic plan, including its annual goals, objectives, finances, projects and fund- raising activities; and provide financial assistance and advice.

Financial Contribution Requirements

A contribution to Tubman University Foundation (TUF) is not required but each member will be asked to contribute according to their interest, commitment and ability. It is important to have all Board and Council members be donors so that when seeking grants and funds from Foundations and corporations, we can proudly respond “Yes” when asked , “Do all of your insiders give”?

Event Participation

As with all Not-for-profit organizations, TUF holds events for building financial support and for promoting positive visibility. Each Advisory Council member is invited to attend these events and to assist increase attendance and revenue by inviting colleagues and friends to the event.

Committee Membership

There are several standing committees of the TUF Board. In order to develop a closer relationship and support of the vision, mission, objectives and strategic plan, as well as, to benefit from the talents, knowledge, skills and abilities of the Advisory Council members, each member is invited to participate on one Board Committee.


The term of each Advisory Council member is two years with the option to serve a second term of additional two years.



©2015 William V.S. Tubman University Foundation ( Making a commitment for the future ) - All Rights Reserved - Website by Iron Web Designs